David Lynch To Release Electronic Album In June

Yesterday at the International Music Summit in Ibiza, David Lynch announced his upcoming electronic album to an audience of hundred people, including BBC’s Rob Da Bank and KCRW’s Jason Bently.

Update: My original, Spanish source was incorrect. According to David Lynch and Sunday Best Recordings, the album will be released by the end of 2011. Probably October or November. The yet untitled album will have 14 tracks (including Good Day Today/I Know) and they are talking about a live show à la Industrial Symphony #1!

Update #2: Crazy Clown Time will be released November 8th 2011 and will feature vocals from Yeah Yeah Yeah’s leader Karen O on its first song, called “Pinky’s Dream”. Here’s the full tracklist via Pitchfork:

  1. Pinky’s Dream
  2. Good Day Today
  3. So Glad
  4. Noah’s Ark
  5. Football Game
  6. I Know
  7. Strange and Unproductive Thinking
  8. The Night Bell With Lightning
  9. Stone’s Gone Up
  10. Crazy Clown Time
  11. These Are My Friends
  12. Speed Roadster
  13. Movin’ On
  14. She Rise Up

The filmmaker didn’t travel all the way to the party island for the announcement, but spoke live via a conference call from his studio just off Mulholland Drive in Los Angeles, where he was joined by Big Dean Hurley who mastered the album. The album which is due for release in June 2011, will include about a dozen songs inspired by modern blues, folk, indie, dance music, and the work of Lynch’s longtime collaborator, Angelo Badalamenti. While the overall atmosphere is very vintage, the production is almost 100% digital technology.

The songs are like pictures for me, they all have stories. There is a scene for each song,” said Lynch while enjoying a skimmed milk espresso.  Asked whether he’ll ever perform his songs live, the director answered: “I’m afraid that will not happen, my friend.

» Listen to Good Day Today/I Know to get an idea of how David Lynch’s electronic album will sound like.

David Lynch album

Source: Ultima Hora Ibiza (Spanish).

Written by Pieter Dom

Founder and curator of Welcome to Twin Peaks since 2011. Bobsessed since March 1991.

One Comment

Share your thoughts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Optionally add an image (JPEG only)